Walking the NET in the Pioneer Valley

View of the 7 Sisters from the NET
View of the 7 Sisters from the NET
Many years ago, Patrick Henry, a long-time trail adopter on Section 5 of the National New England Scenic Trail and frequent hiker on the trail, wrote a detailed description of the first nine sections in Massachusetts, from Section 1 in Southwick to Section 9 in Belchertown. We have recently complied this helpful information and some photos of the trail in a new flip book so you can take a virtual walk along the trail with us. You can also print out the descriptions and add the trail to your adventure list to section hike the trail. You'll be amazed at what you learn about the trail and the history of the surrounding area.
You will also be treated to some fabulous views of the Pioneer Valley such as this one of Section 7 (aka The Seven Sisters) as seen from the lookout tower on Goat Peak at Mt. Tom (Section 6).
Did you know that the NET was recently designated a national trail and is now part of the national park system?
Enjoy the hike!
Back to top